(Book Announcement 1) Celebrating Seasons of the Goddess by Helen Hye-Sook Hwang, Ph.D. & Mary Ann Beavis, Ph.D.

Forthcoming 2017 by Mago Books.

Editors: Helen Hye-Sook Hwang and Mary Ann Beavis

Celebrating Seasons of the Goddess restores the original vision of celebrating cultural and natural landmarks from the perspective of Goddess feminist activism. By taking such categories as time, seasons, nature and the female divine as a point of departure, this book brings modern minds out of patriarchal holiday conventions and invites the reader to join the sobering chorus, led by our 35 authors—writers, researchers, poets, artists, ritualists, photographers and activists from around the world. At an individual level, this book presents a wide range of thealogical expressions in 88 chapters that are self-transcending and metamorphic. Its Goddess Spirituality, which may be called Engaged Goddess Spirituality, is characterized by the impetus to derail the cultural and spiritual paradigm of patriarchal religions. In other words, this book, fueled by the commitment to feminist social change, undertakes the task of undercutting the main nerve of patriarchal advancements that peril the terrestrial community at an ever-magnifying scale. However, Celebrating Seasons of the Goddess does not stop there. Summoning the time/space of the Primordial Mother, HERE/NOW, it re-channels seemingly isolated spiritual practices of the world to the consciousness of WE in S/HE. In short, it is a multi-faceted practical book that accompanies one’s process of awakening and commitment to Engaged Goddess Spirituality.

This book aims at the following:

  • Discovering and owning Nature’s female rhythms
  • Personalizing cosmic time
  • Riding Earth’s seasons
  • Countering foreground patriarchal propagandas
  • Politicizing female experiences as salvific
  • Commemorating Goddesses and gynocentric cultures
  • Befriending non-human members of the terrestrial community
  • Supporting Indigenous struggles
  • Exploring nature-based lifestyles
  • Engaging spirituality with feminist activism
  • Awakening the deep memory of WE
  • Cultivating the primordial consciousness of the Creatrix

This book is structured as four sections:

Section One: Time, Nature, and The Goddess

Section Two: The Chorus in Poetry, Art, and Ritual

Section Three: The Wheel of Seasons

Section Four: A New Beginning, Winter Solstice

Sections One, Three, and Four follow thematic categories, while Section Two is a collection of such genres as poetry, prose, art, and photography, which therefore stands as an autonomous booklet that contains the themes of the other three sections. Readers may opt to read this book perennially (Section One, Two, and Three) and seasonally (Section Four for Winter Solstice).

Read more details about this book here.

Leave a Response

Be the First to Respond!

Notify of
Deanne Quarrie

I can’t wait to see this book. I know it is a treasure!


I thoroughly enjoyed reading about this forthcoming book because, as many of us know, we desperately need to undercut Patriarchy any way we can and perhaps the most important way that we can do this is by interrupting the destructive religious practices that have separated us from each other and our beloved planet. BRAVO!